What is the behaviour of connection failure between masters in multi-master setup?

Hello

Forgive the naivity of these questions. I am quite new to developing distributed systems.

I am building a small distributed system for a small business with two servers, one local and one in the cloud (so that if local environment loses internet connection the client can still access local and if local fails the client can still access cloud). Both environments should be able to operate without the other.

If the local environment loses internet, there will be two functioning but disconnected servers. What would Yugabyte’s behaviour be in this instance? Will it create two independent clusters? When the connection is restored do they recluster? How could the data resynced? What if a record has been updated in both places?

I hope all of this makes sense. I may we’ll be way of the field in my understanding of these things. Any help appreciated!

Thanks.

Hi @guydewinton

Welcome to YugabyteDB Forum!

You need an odd number of servers and we recommend a minimum of 3 in a cluster. See replication docs: Deploy | YugabyteDB Docs.

In this case, the 2 remaining servers will continue serving reads + writes.

Regards,
Dorian
Technical Support Engineer

Another way is to use 2DC asynchronous replication. In case of conflicts, the last write wins.

Thank you for your reply. I have begun a deep dive into your docs as well as getting to know the RAFT consensus algorithm and Kubernetes. It is starting to make sense. I must say that I am blown away by the amount of intelligence that has gone into all of these technologies.

I have a few more questions that have been percolating on the way…

1. If I have a three or five node cluster and one node goes down or there is a network partition, how would the remaining 2 or 4 nodes handle an additional failure (there now being an even number)?