Initdb with a docker stack

Hello everybody,

I come back on a subject already discuss with no real solution on a system approach.
I start a docker stack with a yb-master and a yb-tserver. This stack must be use by an other application but this one can’t start because it miss a table and a piece of sql code is given to create this table.
I thought “nice, yugabytedb is postgres compatible, I could the a initdb start to inject my sql”. After a while I read this subject who said in sumary that this feature is not implemented.
Well , searching again I found this one where @FranckPachot propose to use a third docker service to inject the code. Right , I’m not so bad because I thought to the same thing. But When I’m trying this way, it does’nt work. My yb-tserve refuse the connection with this message :

LOG: invalid length of startup packet

Is t here someone who have an idea to soluce this situation ?
PS > I’m an sysadmin, not a dev :face_with_thermometer:

Hi @Guillaume

Can you describe exactly the commands that you ran & at what order and the full error message?

Hi Dorian

My third docker service , the one who ‘replace/follow’ the initdb is like this :

init-tserver:
    image: yugabytedb/yugabyte:2.16.6.0-b43
    environment:
      CQLSH_HOST: "yb-tserver"
      CQLSH_PORT: 5433
      CQLSH_USER: "postgres"
    command: 'bash -c bin/ycqlsh -f ./initdb.sql'
    volumes:
      - './pginit/initdb.sql:/home/yugabyte/initdb.sql:ro'
    depends_on:
      - yb-tserver

The log from it is :

yugabytedb-init-tserver-1 | Connection error: (‘Unable to connect to any servers’, {‘192.168.176.2’: ConnectionShutdown(‘Connection to 192.168.176.2 was closed’,)})
yugabytedb-init-tserver-1 exited with code 1

The log from yb-tserver is :

yugabytedb-yb-tserver-1 | 2023-08-03 11:05:29.255 UTC [110] LOG: invalid length of startup packet

I add in case of my tserver service :

yb-tserver:
    hostname: ybtserver2
    ports:
      - 9000:9000 # UI Tservev