How to Optimize YugabyteDB for Better Performance

Hii guys! :smiling_face_with_three_hearts:

I am new to YugabyteDB and I am trying to use it for a project that needs to be really fast and reliable. I am having trouble getting the best performance out of it.

Can someone help me learn how to make YugabyteDB work as fast as possible? I had like to know about:

• Settings: Which settings should I change to make it faster? Are there any really important ones?
  • Table Design: How should I set up my tables and indexes so that they work well?
  • Queries: What’s the best way to write fast queries? What should I avoid?
  • Hardware: What kind of computers should I use for YugabyteDB? Is there a best setup?
  • Checking for Problems: How can I tell if YugabyteDB is slow? What should I look for?

I also check this: https://forum.yugabyte.com/t/which-one-has-better-write-performancesalesforce-developer-between-yugabytedb-cluster-and-single-node/2024 But I have not found any solution. Please suggest any advice would be really helpful for me and other people who are new to YugabyteDB.

Thanks in advance! :blush:

Respected community member :saluting_face:

Hi Eden,

I’ll try to answer quickly but to help the best it is important to know:

• is it a new application or one migrated from PostgreSQL or other?
  • is it the kind of traditional SQL application with 100+ tables, or more like microservices with few tables and limited access patterns?
  • by best performance, do you mean higher throughput (more transactions per seconds) or lower response time

Taking your questions one by one:

• Settings
    Being distributed, the database is complex, and there’s no single configuration that fits all. The best to start is with yugabyted and --enable_pg_parity_tech_preview=true which sets multiple parameters like:
    yb_enable_base_scans_cost_model=true and yb_enable_optimizer_statistics=true to get the cost-based optimization on ANALYZEd tables